Saturday, May 8, 2010

Hippies and Christians

Hippies and Christians. You both need to get over yourselves. I grew up Catholic. When I was a teenager I decided to "rebel' and become 1980 version of a Hippy. What I failed to understand is both sects have their own dogma. Replace Christ with Mother Earth and you get the same result. " I am X. I have a deeper insight into how the Universe works. Y is so wrong/unevolved. I am superior".
Fuck that shit. I suggest that both groups take an Astronomy class at their local community college, or do some research online. It's a question of scale. We are living in a minor Galaxy in the backwaters of the Big Bang. To suggest that we somehow have our fingers on the pulse of what is going on is laughable.

Saturday, April 24, 2010

The clock strikes twelve and moondrops burst
Out at you from their hiding place
Like acid and oil on a madman's face
His reason tends to fly away

Like lesser birds on the four winds
Like silver scrapes in May
Now the sands become a crust
And most of you have gone away

Come Susy dear, let's take a walk
Just out there upon the beach
I know you'll soon be married
And you want to know where the winds come from

Well it's never said at all
On the map that Carrie reads
Behind the clock back there you know
At the four winds bar

Hey, hey, hey, hey
Four winds at the four winds bar
Two doors locked and windows barred
One door let to take you in
The other one just mirrors it
Hey, hey, hey, hey

In hellish glare and inference
The other one's a duplicate
The queenly flux, eternal light
Or the light that never warms (repeat twice)

The clock strikes twelve and moondrops burst
Out at you from their hiding place
Miss Carrie nurse and Suzy dear
Would find themselves at the four winds bar

It's the nexus of the crisis
The origin of storms
Just the place to hopelessly
Encounter time and then came me
Hey, hey, hey, hey

Call me Desdenova, eternal light
These gravely digs of mine
Will surely prove a sight
And don't forget my dog, fixed and consequent

Astronomy...a star (repeat indefinitely)

Saturday, April 17, 2010

old age rant

I am 46. In the past whenever I have gotten sick I have taken no cold medicine. Pound water, dose on vitamin C, and drink a tumbler of Bourbon before bed. This time was different. I tried all my tricks and still was not getting well. It was like being on a roller coaster of feeling better, then feeling like shit for almost a month. It culminated in a visit to the emergency room. For three days prior I had been sleeping in my reclining chair because whenever I laid down flat I was overcome with coughing fits. On Monday 4-5 I woke up and couldn't catch my breath. I could hear the fluid gurgling in my lungs. My heart was beating way to rapidly. I knew I needed to go to the emergency room. When I got there I had to park a block away because the parking right in front is a joke. The walk in was hard. I felt like I was 70. My body felt shaky and I was concentrating on my breathing and hearing my heart beat. I thought to myself "well if I drop here they will probably find me in time". Scary shit. Long story short. I was given respiratory therapy, antibiotics, inhaler, cough medicine, and three more days of downtime. I didn't feel myself until day 9 on the antibiotics.
I don't know what the point of this rant is. Other than to maybe remind myself that I need take better care of myself now that I am getting older. 46 isn't "old", but I can see that i don't have the recuperative powers that I did when I was 20. Thank Science for antibiotics. If this would have been 1900 I might have gone down. They are amazing.

Thursday, April 1, 2010

old man rant

I love my 50" Pioneer Kuro and Blueray player. The picture is amazing. Yet my son is willing to watch "Zombieland" on his Ipod touch. It seems that he is willing to give up quality for convenience. I am not going to debate the LP to CD conversion. I think that analog LP's sounded better than digital CD's. But Whatever. However when we accepted buying MP3's at 192AAC bitrate instead of the full quality at 420 (or whatever it is). That is noticeable. It's not like I have golden ears, but the music is not as dynamic. I remember listening to Pink Floyd "Dark side of the Moon" in High School and hearing chairs moving, breathing, and subtle vocalizations in the background. Technically not necessary for hearing the song, but adds to the experience. It's sort of like the difference between seeing a print of a piece of art, and then getting to see it in person. Seeing the actual brush strokes enhances the experience. I digress. What I am trying to say is we have a new medium in HD that is able to amazingly enhance TV and movies much like groups like Pink Floyd were able to utilize technology with music in the 70's to create amazing stuff. I am not saying that HD and Blueray are the end of this process. I am just asking that you please embrace this direction and buy a HD TV, and a Blueray player so we don't wind up with the "good enough" generations future.

Sunday, March 28, 2010

I have been messing around with chatroulette for a couple of weeks now. I have had video chats with people from all over the world I talked with a guy and his Wife from China last night. Amazing! However, 95% of my chats attempts have been with old men jerking off, or teenagers that ridicule me for invading their space. How come an idea that is such an amazing equalizer in communication gets dragged down to it's most base. I am not naive, just disappointed..

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Elephant talk by King Crimson
Talk
It's only talk
Arguments
Agreements
Advice
Answers

Articulate announcements
It's only talk

Talk
It's only talk
Babble
Burble
Banter
Bicker bicker bicker
Brouhaha
Boulderdash
Ballyhoo
It's only talk
Back talk

Talk talk talk
It's only talk
Comments
Cliches
Commentary
Controversy
Chatter
Chit-chat
Chit-chat
Chit-chat

Conversation
Contradiction
Criticism
It's only talk
Cheap talk

Talk
Talk
It's only talk
Debates
Discussions
These are words with a D this time
Dialogue
Dualogue
Diatribe

Dissention
Declamation
Double talk
Double talk

Talk
Talk
It's all talk
Too much talk
Small talk
Talk that trash
Expressions
Editorials
Expugnations
Exclamations
Enfadulations
It's all talk
Elephant talk
Elephant talk
Elephant talk

Saturday, March 20, 2010

Setting up my profile right now. Show astrological signs? The default is a yes check. Are you fucking kidding me. I am typing this on a computer that is hooked up to a giant network of computers that are all talking together to make up the Internet. That's amazing science. We did this. Bravo! It was hard work and determination that makes this work. It's not the position of the planets when we fell out of our collective mother's pussy's that determines anything. Haven't we got beyond that? Take a deep breath and look around. What do you see? You see the progression from the first Hominid putting a stick down an ant hole for food to where we are at now. You can see a direct line from there to here based on hard work and determination. It's not " Well I am a Virgo and my strengths are more social, so I don't think I will go on the hunt with you today". We have not always had that luxury. If you didn't hunt you fucking died. Your disposition had nothing to do with it. Astrology is a basis for excuses. Now that we have progressed beyond a (not for all of us to be sure) "where is my next meal going to come from existence we have the luxury to use things like Astrology (and religion) to excuse our bad/lazy behavior. How many people in Darfur do you think are thinking about their astrological signs right now? I know they were not all born on the same day. Why are they suffering the same fate then? How about two people born at the exact same time. One in America and one in Darfur. Do they have the same "fate"?. If you can't smell that bullshit then there is no helping you.