I am 46. In the past whenever I have gotten sick I have taken no cold medicine. Pound water, dose on vitamin C, and drink a tumbler of Bourbon before bed. This time was different. I tried all my tricks and still was not getting well. It was like being on a roller coaster of feeling better, then feeling like shit for almost a month. It culminated in a visit to the emergency room. For three days prior I had been sleeping in my reclining chair because whenever I laid down flat I was overcome with coughing fits. On Monday 4-5 I woke up and couldn't catch my breath. I could hear the fluid gurgling in my lungs. My heart was beating way to rapidly. I knew I needed to go to the emergency room. When I got there I had to park a block away because the parking right in front is a joke. The walk in was hard. I felt like I was 70. My body felt shaky and I was concentrating on my breathing and hearing my heart beat. I thought to myself "well if I drop here they will probably find me in time". Scary shit. Long story short. I was given respiratory therapy, antibiotics, inhaler, cough medicine, and three more days of downtime. I didn't feel myself until day 9 on the antibiotics.
I don't know what the point of this rant is. Other than to maybe remind myself that I need take better care of myself now that I am getting older. 46 isn't "old", but I can see that i don't have the recuperative powers that I did when I was 20. Thank Science for antibiotics. If this would have been 1900 I might have gone down. They are amazing.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

Sounds scary. Glad you're feeling better!
ReplyDelete